Monday, 18 April 2011

The new Seven Pillars of Information Literacy model

Recently, I've been working with Ruth Stubbings to "rebuild" the seven pillars model on behalf of SCONUL. We have developed it as a core model for HE, to which a series of lenses can be applied and we are officially launching it at the LILAC conference tomorrow. The new model is not linear or step driven – it is iterative and recognises attributes as well as skills – individuals can start their development any where and be expert on different pillars at different times. The model draws from the IL Landscape, recognising how this impacts in IL development. Consequently, it emphasises attributes of awareness and understanding as well as skills and competencies.
All the documentation is available on the SCONUL website 

No comments:

Post a Comment